25 Comments
Aug 21, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

I think it is a great idea. Maybe we can post a short video of our progression?

Expand full comment
Aug 21, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

I'd be down with this. Maybe a zoom session midway or at that end to share progress?

Expand full comment

Yes, that can be fun. And efficient! And there's nothing like engaging with a group to reach an objective. I'd say a month, if it is to be a group thing. Videos, definitely- images & movement speak a lot! Would everybody be practising the same skill?

Expand full comment
Aug 21, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

I think they are a great idea. They keep you accountable since you have to show your progress to the group. One month seems about the right length of time if someone is practicing a few times a week which is realistic. Griff, maybe you should do rear wheel hops! 😉

Expand full comment
Aug 21, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

Great Idea Griff. Hoping something like this will help me stay committed to the practice. If this motivated me to practice not sure I could find any cons . The pros would be for me, a sense of completion . Keep the Jam short and simple and then maybe progress to another level if we wanted to take it further or deeper into the skill or practice, little steps that would be my suggestion.

Expand full comment
Aug 21, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

Feedback is always useful and encouraging.

Us non-media types would need to gear up for such a thing........get with it.

I presume that quite a high standard of photography would be necessary.

Is anyone interested in ebike technique?

I have found, to my horror, that ebikes have not translated well to technical riding. It seems to need a whole new set of skills.......and attitudes.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

I am in. Great idea.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

I think this is a great idea - ohhh accountability is a good thing - a month long would be perfect! Count me in Griff!!

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Griff Wigley

Sounds like a good way to focus on my practice! I’m psyched!

Expand full comment
author

I'm adding a comment to this discussion about the fact that we actually held our first online practice jam back in Nov/Dec 2022. Here's a link to my post about it:

https://mtbpracticelab.substack.com/p/beta-test-our-first-online-mtb-practice-jam

Expand full comment